for more in-depth thoughts about 999, visit my dedicated page here!

i wanted to play 999 for years before i ever got the chance to. in hindsight it's probably for the best that i didn't get to play it for a while; it made me insane enough as an adult, it would have made me absolutely UNHINGED at 13.

i don't know what exactly it was that finally convinced me to bite the bullet and play it, just tha i had returned home for the summer after my first year of uni and emulated it on my laptop. i was so determined to avoid spoilers that i initially refused to look up an ending guide ... but i quickly changed my mind when i accidentally got the Sub ending twice in a row. (while the Sub ending is a fantastic ending, and easily my favourite of the standard endings, i was uhhhh Really Irate at the fact that i'd sunk several hours into getting the exact same ending that didn't further explain the mysteries raised)

i enjoyed 999 a regular amount up until i reached the Safe ending. oh my GOD the Safe ending is absolutely cooked; i was HOOKED. despite the fact that it was the early hours of the morning, i immediately fired up a fresh file, determined to reach the True ending before i went to bed. by the time the credits finally rolled, the sun was rising and my head was spinning. exhausted, i immediately tracked down a copy of the sequel online and purchased it before passing out.